Bible posts round-up

Okay, hopefully I’ve now whetted your appetites for lots of faintly controversial Bible-related stuff! 🙂

It turns out I’ve already written plenty of posts on Bible-ish topics over the last few years, which it would be remiss of me not to wave in your general direction at this point. Please forgive any repetition and woffle – when you blog over a long period you do start saying things again without realising, as well as occasionally writing utter rubbish. And I know my posts can be ridiculously long.

Dealing with difficult passages

Gospel discrepancies

Reacting against the Bible

  • “Don’t read your Bible…” – why it might be okay to lay the Bible to one side during particular seasons of your spiritual journey
  • Burning the Bible – a poetic reflection on whether it might ever be appropriate to consign portions of Scripture to the flames.

General

  • What use is the Bible? – is this set of ancient religious/historical texts really of any practical use to our lives in the 21st century?
  • Truth matters – but what is truth? – looking at whether the deepest ‘Truth’ is something that can ever adequately be expressed in words, doctrines or creedal formulations.

Enjoy! And please always feel free to leave comments on old posts.

About TheEvangelicalLiberal

Aka Harvey Edser. I'm a web editor, worship leader, wannabe writer, very amateur composer and highly unqualified armchair theologian. My heroes include C.S. Lewis and Homer Simpson.
This entry was posted in Bible and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bible posts round-up

  1. Terry says:

    Is this the shortest post you’ve ever, um, posted on this blog?

    Like

    • Very probably! Though only because I’m linking to lots of much longer ones…

      Though I am actually going to make a concerted effort to limit myself to about 1000 words… I’ve tried reading back some of my old posts and even I get lost half way through!

      Like

  2. Pingback: An Excellent Series on the Bible | Flying in the Spirit

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.