God bless America

You may have noticed that I haven’t been on this blog for a while – apologies for that. There Have Been Reasons.

And also apologies for this song, which is likely to offend the more patriotically American of my readers, though it isn’t meant to:

A few important caveats:

(1) This is not a blanket Anti-American song, despite appearances – it’s really only aimed at President Donald J Trump, his government and his staunchest supporters. Most of it doesn’t apply to most Americans – I know that.

(2) It’s satirical, so not meant to be taken entirely seriously. Nonetheless, I do apologise again for any offence caused.

(3) I really do want God to bless America, for all our sakes. And I’d particularly like God to bless Trump with humility, humanity and a sense of hubris.

(4) I’m not particularly better than Trump (and nor is my country better than the US) – I’m just not in power. So the most I can do is moan about the people who are. (Very cathartic it is too – highly recommended.)

And here are the lyrics:

God Bless America, God Bless America
God Bless America
Man, woman, boy and girl
From New York to Iowa,
Texas to California,
Oh please God bless America
– before they screw up the world

Does ‘America First’ just mean that the rest of us are second rate?
You care for unborn American kids but not the refugee at your gate;
Will you destroy the environment and leave the rest of us to our fate?
You want everyone to love you but speak the rhetoric of fear and hate

God Bless America…
Each congressman, every senator
Oh please God bless America
Before they screw up the world

Mr President, I hope you’re better than the hateful things you’ve said;
I sometimes wonder what passes for thinking in your presidential head;
I worry about that twitchy finger near the button labelled red –
If you go that way it won’t just be the bad guys who end up dead…

 

…And now I need to go and write one about Brexit or something, just for balance…

About TheEvangelicalLiberal

Aka Harvey Edser. I'm a web editor, worship leader, wannabe writer, very amateur composer and highly unqualified armchair theologian. My heroes include C.S. Lewis and Homer Simpson.
This entry was posted in Satire/silly and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to God bless America

  1. Terry says:

    I look forward to the remix.

    Like

  2. Oh well. At least you’re back!

    On Jun 17, 2017 2:09 PM, “The Evangelical Liberal” wrote:

    > TheEvangelicalLiberal posted: “You may have noticed that I haven’t been on > this blog for a while – apologies for that. There Have Been Reasons. And > also apologies for this song, which is likely to offend the more > patriotically American of my readers, though it isn’t meant to: htt” >

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks dude – the song really isn’t aimed at you, honestly. It’s just an enjoyable armchair rant about those who have power to mess up our world. But of course, I mess up the world in small ways too, and would mess it up in big ways if anyone were unwise enough to give me power…

      Like

  3. jesuswithoutbaggage says:

    Harvey, I am glad to see you back. I am an American, and I have the same concerns about Trump that you do. What is he going to do next! My hope is a change in congress in 2018 and a new President in 2020.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. William says:

    You want him to be blessed with “…a sense of hubris”??? You mean the opposite surely. Hubris is an excessive pride and confidence, vanity, self-importance, feeling of superiority. He already has plenty of that!

    Like

  5. Peter S says:

    Hi there, I’ve come across your blog and like the emphasis on a more liberal take on Christianity whilst also adhering to the essentials of the faith. This more liberal version of Christianity does make sense to me and I’d like to thank you for so many interesting articles. However, one question I wouldn’t mind asking is what do we do with Christian and church history? How do we reconcile the fact that God allowed the church and its people to believe very conservative doctrines for so long? – I’m especially thinking of legalism within the church and the belief in an eternal torment.

    Like

    • Hi Peter, thank you for commenting and I’m so sorry it’s taken me so many months to reply! I went through a bit of a life crisis last year on the back of redundancy and this is the first time I’ve looked at my blog in many months.

      That’s a good question about what we do with church history, and why did God allow the church to believe and practise conservative doctrines for so long. For me this stands alongside the question of why God has allowed there to be so many versions of Christianity in conflict with each other, and the even larger questions of why he’s allowed so many awful things to happen throughout history. I don’t think it’s because he endorses all of these things, or all these versions of Christianity, but I think he works with imperfect humans as we are rather than as he’d like us to be, and the imperfect world as it is, while always seeking to transform and liberate and lead us to better understanding. But that’s only a very incomplete answer to a huge question which I need to think about more!

      Bless you
      Harvey

      Like

  6. Terry says:

    So the question is . . . are you ever going to post again?

    Like

  7. Terry says:

    Should we assume that the Evangelical Liberal is now closed? It’s been over two years, my friend!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.